>Smile

>He sends me a song, and in it these words speak to me:

*”Every time I see you, you’re wearing the same old frown.
Lift up your pretty hair, and show the world that you’re not down.
Baby, baby please smile….  Just for a little while.”

You tell me to smile.
I tell you, I’m trying.  
I’m tired of holding my dreams.  
They are heavy, and dark.
It’s time to let them go.
But how? When?
Amidst my life of duty and social obligation.
When?
How?
I need to let this burden down.  
Give my dreams my light and love.
My creative expression.
No more asking when.
No more asking how.
Now. 
*Smile, by Guy
Leave a Reply

